skip navigation

Donohoe, Severino Region: Elite Eight

By Chad Rader, 810 Varsity, 04/08/20, 7:45PM CDT


Vote for games in 810 Varsity's KC's Greatest Bracket

KC's Greatest Bracket - Who Ya Got?

Vote for the best of the best in 810 Varsity's KC's Greatest (2009-2019) Bracket. 

Schools were limited to a maximum of three (3) teams in the 64-team field. 

Voters can vote once per day. Each round of voting will be three (3) days from its start.

Elite Eight Voting


About Tony Severino:
If you haven't heard of Tony Severino, you either just moved to Kansas City, or don't care about football. The Hawklets won seven Missouri state football championships in Severino’s tenure (1983, 1986, 1987, 2000, 2002, 2007, 2010) and four other state title game appearances. Overall, Rockhurst piled up an impressive 345-92-1 mark in Severino’s career.

1. Rockhurst (2010) vs 2. Bishop Miege (2014)

Rockhurst – 2010
Record: 14-0
Missouri Class 6 State Champions

The Hawklets opened with three nailbiters over Blue Springs (7-6), Hutchinson (29-28, OT) and Blue Springs South (24-17, OT). Rockhurst finished with one score playoff wins over BSS, BS and Hazelwood Central in the title game, 10-7. The D held 9 foes to 10 points or under, and just 13 total points in the final 3 playoff games. TE Dan Tapko and DE Michael Rose-Ivey anchored the lines for Rock.

Bishop Miege – 2014
Record: 14-0
Kansas Class 4A State Champions

The Stags didn’t have an opponent within 21 points until the state title game, a 42-35 win over Hayden. Eventual Virginia Tech QB Ryan Willis led the arsenal with 3,003 yards and 35 TDs, future Mizzou Tiger Dawson Downing ran up 1,955 yards and 31 TDs, as well as future Notre Damer WR Jafar Armstrong with 1,205 yards and 9 receiving scores.


About Kelly Donohoe:
Donohoe rolled up a 182-49 record at Blue Springs, and 208-56 overall in his career, with four state titles (2001, 2009, 2012, 2013) and seven championship games. Donohoe accepted the Rockhurst head coaching position earlier in 2020. The KU product still remains in the top 3 in all-time passing yardage on the Jayhawks charts.

1. Blue Springs (2013) vs 2. Staley (2017)

Blue Springs – 2013
Record: 14-0
Missouri Class 6 State Champions
The Wildcats were unreal, holding foes in single digits 7 times. Future NFLer Elijah Lee along with Carlos and Khalil Davis combined for 66 TFLs and arguably the best D-line in the decade. Meanwhile, Ian Brown threw for 45 TDs, and future K-State RB Dalvin Warmack became the first two-time Simone Award winner with 2,000+ rushing yards and 29 TDs, while future Green Bay Packer WR Darius Shepherd hauled in 1,302 yards and 14 TDs. Four future NFLers, plus the only two-time Simone Award winner = greatest KC HS team ever?

Staley – 2017
Record: 14-0
Missouri Class 5 State Champions

The Falcons brought home another undefeated state title with Phil Lite at the helm. QB John Raybourn was Offensive Player of the Year with a ridiculous 3,000 yards passing and 1,000 rushing yards, with 44 passing TDs and 7 scores on the ground. In the title game, Staley drove the field down 35-28 with :57 to Pattonville, before Raybourn hit TE Zach Elam for a TD, then JD Benbow for the title-winning two-point conversion for a 36-35 win.

Headline News