skip navigation

Children's Mercy Sports Medicine Performance of the Week

810 Varsity and Children's Mercy Sports Medicine Center have partnered for a weekly Children’s Mercy Sports Medicine Center Metro Area High School Male and Female Student-Athlete Performance of the Week award! 

Nominations are due each week, by Monday at noon, and can be submitted online at 

810 Varsity also will post weekly reminders on Twitter and at as well. 

On Monday afternoon, the selection committee will review the nominations and choose a weekly Male and Female winner. Then Tuesday, the winners will be announced on both the 810 Varsity and the Children’s Mercy Sports Medicine Center social media channels, as well as .

At the end of the year, a Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Year will be selected, and each winner will be invited to be recognized on the field prior to a Sporting KC match at Children’s Mercy Park.

We are looking forward to a great year of high school sports in the KC Metro and wish everyone nothing but the best of luck!

Children’s Mercy Sports Medicine Center: Improving the performance of student-athletes through comprehensive care for a lifetime of sport participation.


Keyana Cruse, Bonner Springs

Cruse has helped Bonner Springs to a 9-1 start in 2020, leading the Braves in kills and points. Last week, the senior notched 58 kills in three matches - including a big win over Spring Hill - along with three aces and 29 digs. 

Cruse earned American Volleyball Coaches Association/Max Preps Kansas Player of the Week earlier in the season


Tank Young, St. Thomas Aquinas

Young has been atop the Metro's rushing charts for the past three seasons. The senior helped carry the Saints to a 41-35 win over rival Bishop Miege with a monster 238-yard, 4-touchdown effort. 

Young has 483 rushing yards and six TDs in two games, and has rushed for over 4,000 yards already as a Saint.

Photo: Darryl Woods, 810 Varsity

Previous Winners

CMSM Performance of Week

By Chad Rader, 810 Varsity 09/23/2020, 12:45pm CDT

Bonner Spring's Cruse, St. Thomas Aquinas' Young Earn Honors

CMSM Performance of Week

By Chad Rader, 810 Varsity 09/16/2020, 12:15pm CDT

Ray-Pec's Hippe, St. Thomas Aquinas' Farrar Earn Honors

CMSM Performance of the Week

By Chad Rader, 810 Varsity 09/08/2020, 11:45am CDT

Smithville's Cotter, Platte County's Runke earn honors

CMSM Performance of Week

By Chad Rader, 810 Varsity 09/01/2020, 12:15pm CDT

Spring Hill's Stevenson, Liberty's Dennis Earn Honors