skip navigation

Boehm Region: Second Round

By Chad Rader, 810 Varsity, 03/29/20, 8:15AM CDT


Vote for games in 810 Varsity's KC's Greatest Bracket

KC's Greatest Bracket - Who Ya Got?

Vote for the best of the best in 810 Varsity's KC's Greatest (2009-2019) Bracket. 

Schools were limited to a maximum of three (3) teams in the 64-team field. 

Voters can vote once per day. Each round of voting will be three (3) days from its start.

Elite Eight Voting


About Royce Boehm:
Boehm started the Lee's Summit West football program from the ground up, and simply won, won, won. From 2004-2015, Boehm compiled a 118-36 record, and won three Missouri state titles (Class 4 - 2007; Class 5 - 2010, 2013). 

1. Aquinas (2018) vs 9. Blue Springs (2017)

First Round Results;
The Saints blitzed Eudora (2011) in the first round 42-10 behind 324 yards and 3 TDs from Tank Young, while Blue Springs scored late on an Aveion Bailey fueled drive and a game-winning TD reception to Caleb Marquez for a 28-22 win over Blue Valley (2016).

St. Thomas Aquinas - 2018
Record: 12-0
Kansas Class 5A State Champions

The Saints scored 40+ in 9 of its 12 games, led by sophomore Tank Young (2,075 yards, 26 TDs in 10 games) and a ridiculous line in five-star recruit sophomore Jaeden Roberts and Oklahoma State commit Joe Michalski. Coach Randy Dreiling led the Saints to their first state title in school history.

Blue Springs – 2017
Record: 11-2
Missouri Class 6 Runner-Up

The Wildcats went to the Class 6 title game for the second straight year with a loaded cast. Among the cast were QB Chase Donohoe, RB Aveion Bailey and future Mizzou Tiger and Lineman of the Year Daniel Parker. The lone loss to a Kansas City team – Park Hill, was avenged with a 34-14 runaway in the semis.

4. SM East (2014) vs 5. Rockhurst (2018)

First Round Results;
The Lancers ground game wore down Blue Valley North (2018)'s defense late, while holding Graham Mertz in check with 278 yards and 2 TDs, as SM East won, 27-20. 
Meanwhile, Rockhurst's D clamped down on the Kearney offense, holding Brock Broughton to just 78 yards. A Tyler Atwood interception return for a TD, and Michael Johnson's 156-yard, TD effort pushed the Hawklets to a 31-10 victory.

Shawnee Mission East – 2014
Record: 13-0
Kansas Class 6A State Champions

The Lancers flexbone running game under head coach Dustin Delaney overpowered foes, led by RB Wyatt Edmisten. Future K-Stater Kyle Ball dominated on the defensive line, leading the SME defense. The Lancers escaped a 36-35 OT classic vs Olathe North in the semis, before handling Hutchinson, 33-14, in the title game.

Rockhurst – 2018
Record: 11-3
Missouri Class 6 Runner-Up

The Hawklets held Kansas City foes to just 6.7 ppg, and eight games of 10 points or less. Unfortunately, two games were against CBC, including the title game, which the Cadets handled Rock, 90-28, in two games. Rock pitched a shutout of Blue Springs early in the season, 17-0, then escaped with a 14-13 win over BSHS in the semis. Another 14-13 victory – over crosstown rival Miege after a hiatus since 1986. OT Danielson Ike led the physical offense, while LBs Tucker Atwood and Tommy Eckels helped lead the D.

3. Bishop Miege (2017) vs 6. Mill Valley (2016)

First-Round Results:
Free State (2012) wasn't much for Bishop Miege's offense. Carter Putz threw for 3 TDs - 2 to Daniel Jackson - and Brison Cobbins darted for 192 yards and 2 scores in a 42-10 win over the Firebirds.
Bubba Starling ran for 142 yards and 2 TDs, but Mill Valley's air assault was too much. Christian Jegen and Lucas Krull combined for 276 receiving yards and 3 TDs. A Blazer fumble late inside the 10 sealed a Jaguars 24-20 victory.

Bishop Miege – 2017
Record: 13-0
Kansas Class 4A State Champions

Only two games were under a 31-point differential, the closest a 27-14 win over Aquinas. Carter Putz threw for 38 TDs to 5 INTs in mainly first halves of games, to finish as the state career leader in TDs (124) and yardage (9,295). RB Brison Cobbins (1,294 yards) and WR Daniel Jackson (1,270, 16 TDs) helped lead the offense, while LB Dylan Downing (142 tackles), DE Jalen Williams (26 TFL) and others led a sterling defense.

Mill Valley - 2015
Record: 12-1
Kansas Class 5A State Champions

Christian Jegen stole the headlines as the Wide Receiver of the Year, with 824 rushing yards and 14 TDs, and 1,274 receiving yards and 16 TDs. Lucas Krull (6-foot-7) also was a beast with 745 yards and 13 TDs, an easy target for QB Logan Koch (2,483 yards, 32 TDs; 781 rushing, 13 TDs).

Joel Applebee’s choice to go independent on scheduling resulted in the first of his three state titles, with games against St. Thomas Aquinas, Derby and the lone loss to Staley.

2. LS West (2013) vs 10. Richmond (2010)

First-Round Results:
Lee's Summit West coasted in a 35-10 win over Odessa (2015). Ryan Williams was too much late with 3 TDs.
Richmond (2010) pulled off the first-round upset of the bracket so far. Two interceptions of Olathe North set up two easy TDs for Richmond in a 23-17 victory.

Lee’s Summit West – 2013
Record: 13-1
Missouri Class 5 State Champions

The Titans scored 35+ and won by 14+ in all but one game. The lone loss was to the undefeated Class 6 juggernaut Blue Springs, in a 42-35 classic. LS West rolled through the playoffs by an average score of 49-10. QB Thomas Ganaden (2,576 yards, 27 TDs to 6 INTs) enjoyed throwing to Taylor Award winner and future MLB’er Monte Harrison (1,007 yards, 13 TDs). Future Mizzou Tigers RB Ryan Williams and DB Logan Cheadle also helped lead the charge for Royce Boehm’s third title at West.

Richmond – 2010
Record: 14-0
Missouri Class 3 State Champions

Just win, baby. Richmond did just that, with three one-score playoff wins: 21-14 over Maryville, 23-21 over Cassville and the thriling 21-20 victory over John Burroughs in the title game. Down 20-7 entering the final period, QB Colby Bowles hit Kyle Carroll for a fourth-quarter TD pass, then hit Kane Southwick for a game-winning TD with :16 left to win the Class 3 title.

Headline News